Some Notes on My Absence from the Blogosphere

It has been awhile since I’ve posted so I figured you all were owed at least an update. I had been intending to do this earlier, but my focus has been a bit on the split side. A friend of mine from graduate school many years ago, took to Facebook and issued a writing challenge of producing about 750 words a day of fiction for all of July, each day and everyday. I accepted her challenge, but in a modified form of one essay per day of 750 or more words for the month of July. I haven’t been posting these to the blog and am hoarding them towards possibly producing a book length manuscript, which I’ve wanted to do for quite some time. This counts toward my daily production requirement, but I don’t want my blog to go stale while I’m slaving away on the project. I’ve had some other issues lately that have distracted me from my cd project, which is still on the burner, just not the front one at the moment. At a recent doctor’s appointment I received some information which shook up my world a bit, and has called for some life-style changes that need to be addressed immediately, and not put off as something I can afford to deal with at a later date, so I’m making those changes, some of which are impacting the amount of time I have free to pursue various other things. However, the trade off is that making the changes does much to ensure that I can continue doing the things I want to into the foreseeable future.

It’s easy to forget that we need to view our lives holistically, and I’m just as guilty as the next guy when it comes to tending to focus on what matters in the moment and maybe into next week. For instance, for quite awhile I’ve been running on the basis that if I have a choice in how I spend my time, exercise was about the last thing I’d consider, ceding to practicing, reading, recreational eating, and everything but hauling myself to the gym on a regular basis, despite knowing better. My eating habits weren’t so hot either. I love fried food, cheeseburgers, ribs, chips, you name it, and I’ve got quite a sweet tooth on top of that. I’m kind of addicted to it as well. On the positive side, I don’t smoke. I quit that over twenty years ago, but when I did I was a heavy smoker, smoking three packs a day. I rarely drink alcohol, largely because it interacts with my medications negatively, and because I’ve seen first hand the mess it has the potential to create in people’s lives. I never was into recreational drug use, thankfully; I’ve seen the fallout from that as well.

Currently I am on a diet to do what most people do who diet, lose weight, and in the past month since my check up I’ve dropped just short of 10 pounds (258 down to 249; I’m 5’9” on a good day). I’ve also cut out most of the fatty foods that have been staples in my diet, have starting focusing more on vegetables and fruit and have stopped snacking on things that do harm, including a massive sugar reduction. I’m also exercising regularly through biking several times a week and walking my dog, George, a mile to a mile and a half every afternoon. I can feel the difference already in terms of having more energy and less knee pain. I just had my follow up appointment to check in on how the blood pressure med is working, and my doc was pleased with the changes I’ve made. I’m still waiting on the results of my stress test, but as my doc said, if there had been a major issue they wouldn’t have let me leave the hospital.

I’m 52 and not done with my life. I want to be able to still be actively performing, writing and enjoying life in 30 years if not longer, so that means I have to take a different approach to living my life on a day to day basis, and deal with it holistically, not cherry-picking and living entirely in the moment. I’m already seeing that the moments that I’m living in are improving thanks to the changes I’ve already made and for this I’m thankful. If I continue with this, as I intend to, I can only foresee the quality of my entire life improving radically. It’s also giving me a more solid appreciation of each moment I have, and the importance of maximizing the value of those moments to be productive, affirming, forward looking and more goal oriented. It also reminds me that I am more than one thing. I am a father, a husband, a musician, a writer, a teacher, a pet owner, a concerned citizen, and a plethora of other roles that all tie together in what constitutes being me; all of which bring their own hosts of responsibilities, joys and setbacks with them.

So, if I have been remiss with my blog posts regarding things musical, advice given and anecdotes shared, I apologize. I am working on living and promoting continuing to do so healthily and holistically, which in the end can only improve things professionally as well. One of the things about being a long term creative person and musician is that you’ve got to live a full life and fill it with as much of the positive as possible. It is your individual responsibility to do so. Pain and suffering end up being a part of that as well, but you’ve got to do your part to do what it takes to limit that and not bring it upon yourself. Some subscribe to the concept that pain and suffering are required in order to accomplish great things creatively, but honestly, I think that’s a huge crock of romantic bullshit. Living is what is required, and living a full and complete life can only make your art, whatever it is, better.

One thought on “Some Notes on My Absence from the Blogosphere

  1. Good blog sir, good luck with this effort.

    I’ve spent the last month recovering from rotator surgery(very successful) and a severe and debilitating pinched nerve in my L5 vertebrae. Not so much fun as it has me unable to walk more than a block without crippling pain. PT helping albeit far too slowly for me.

    Prior to that joy Elaine and I have also begun a diet of cutting out the sugars, fats, and casual snacking we had gotten into . We’ve each dumped 10 pounds and are looking to shedding more. Try an app called “Lose It” to help set goals and track the foods you do eat. Hell, you can even phone scan the bar codes on packaged foods to get the calories. Easy to use, helped keep us on track.

    Go for it!

    Joel

    Like

Leave a Reply

